Zhytomyr region is undeservedly often passed, giving preference to the western cities of Ukraine.
We decided to break the stereotype of an uninteresting region and talk about the most outstanding places and sights of the Zhytomyr region.
Where to go and what to see in the Zhytomyr region
The Monastery of Barefoot Carmelites’ Order
That Barefoot Carmelite Monastery, in Berdichev is a majestic architectural complex with defensive walls, towers and a magnificent baroque church.
This main shrine is the miraculous icon of the Mother of God of Berdichevsky, donated to the monastery by J. Tyszkiewicz. In 1997, a copy of the icon was consecrated and crowned by Pope John Paul II.
Address: Zhytomyr region, Berdychiv , Cathedral, 25
Tereshchenko Palace in the village of Chervone
An impressive, albeit very dilapidated, three-story neo-Gothic building with two towers contrasts sharply with the surrounding agricultural landscape of the village of Chervone.
The palace with lancet windows and other Gothic elements was built by the magnate A. Grokholsky, who in the 18th-19th centuries. belonged to Chervonoe.
In con. in the XIXth century the estate was acquired from Princess V. Radziwill by the sugar manufacturer N. Tereshchenko, who then sold (or transferred) it to his brother F. Tereshchenko, who reconstructed the palace and the neighboring sugar factory.
The palace in Chervone currently belongs to the Zhytomyr diocese of the UOC-MP, the Chervonsky Convent of the Nativity of Christ was opened in it, however, restoration work is not carried out, the building continues to deteriorate.
On the territory you can see a non-working fountain, which was previously decorated with four fish. Another fountain with a unique cast-iron sculpture “Three Graces”, which Tereshchenko ordered in France, now stands on the square in front of the House of Culture.
Address: Zhytomyr region, Chervone, Kotovsky, 3
Tereshchenko Palace in Andrushevka
Neo-Renaissance palace second floor. The XIXth century was built in Andrushevka by the sugar manufacturer N. Tereshchenko on the site of the old palace of the Berzhinsky counts.
The building currently houses a secondary school. Fragments of stucco decoration on the ceilings, a marble staircase, and an old carved table have been preserved in the interiors. The palace is located above the swan pond, in the middle of an old park.
A monument to N. Tereshchenko was erected in the park, opened in 2014 at the expense of a local entrepreneur E. Grinishin.
Address: Zhytomyr region, Andrushevka, Sadovaya, 1
The picturesque artificial lake, formed on the site of a flooded granite quarry, belongs to the Korostyshevsky Quarry enterprise, which processes natural stone from various deposits in Ukraine.
The rocky shores of the lake as high as 10 m, invaded by pine and birch trees, resemble Karelian landscapes.Water’s got an unusual turquoise tinge. Steep vertical walls of the quarry attract climbers and extreme sports enthusiasts.
Address: Zhytomyr region, Korostyshev, Red Partisans, 117
Island of love
A romantic island on the pond in the center of Stary Solotvyno is called by the locals the “Island of Love”.
A small wooden fisherman’s house has been built on the island, surrounded by birches, to which a wooden footbridge leads. The place looks very colorful, which attracts tourists and photographers.
Address: Zhytomyr region, with. Old Solotvin, st. Lenin
The estate of the Orzhevsky nobles was built in the center of Nova Chertoriya at the beginning of the 19th century. in the Baroque style, reconstructed at the end of the 19th century. in the pseudo-Byzantine style.
Unique mirrors and stained-glass windows of Byzantine masters, handmade forging, bog oak trim have been preserved in the palace.
Also, the church-tomb of the Orzhevskys with paintings by the Russian artist M. Nesterov has been preserved. He also painted the image of the iconostasis. The estate is surrounded by a picturesque park with a pond, where 160-170-year-old trees of local species grow.
Address: Zhytomyr region, with. Nova Chertoria, st. Lenin
The building of a water mill on the Myka River on the southern outskirts of Radomysl was erected in the con. 19th century (according to other sources in 1904) on the foundations of a paper factory founded in 1606 by Archimandrite Elisey Pletenetsky to provide paper for the printing house of the Kiev-Pechersk Lavra.
The factory was destroyed during the Cossack uprisings.
In 2011, at the initiative of the Bogomolets-Sheremetev family, the historical and cultural complex “Castle Radomysl” was opened in a restored building.
The Radomysl Castle has restored the process of hand-made paper making. The paper factory (papyrnia) has all the equipment that was used by the monks in the 17th century, as well as a printing press for printing text on finished sheets.
Those who wish can attend a master class and make a sheet of paper with their own hands. The castle has a concert hall with 150 seats, a majestic ceremonial hall for celebrations, an old refectory with a large castle oven and a 60-liter cauldron on an open fire.
There is a landscaped park next to the castle.
Address: Zhytomyr region, Radomyshl, st. Pletenetskaya, 15
A hundred-year-old oak with spreading branches in the forest near Vyshpol is called the “Wonder Oak ”.
According to legend, the “Wizard Oak” has the miraculous power to heal those who touch it with the words: “I’m sticking around for you, I’m getting healthy.”
Located at the entrance to the recreation center “Chudodeyevo”.
Address: Zhytomyr region, with. Vyshpol Chernyakhovsky district
Place of power “Stone Village”
The Stone Village is a real place of power, where you can find huge blocks of stones in the middle of a dense forest. Probably, the boulders were brought by a glacier, after which they underwent weathering. There are several folk legends about the origin of the “Stone Village”. One of them tells how the greedy inhabitants of the forest settlement refused shelter to wanderers, for which they were punished – their houses turned to stone.
People come here to recharge their batteries and enjoy unusual views.
Address: Zhytomyr region, with. Rudnya-Zamyslovichskaya, ur. “Stone Village”
Climbing wall in the village of Denishi
In the village of Denishi there is a climbing wall for training climbers, who are usually based in the nearby Denishi sanatorium. And the most picturesque places are located in the dam area, where locals often come for the weekend with a tent.
Even in the village of Denishi are the ruins of the castle in 1911, which belonged to the Tereshchenko family.
Address: Zhytomyr region, Denishi village
Stalin’s bunker in Korosten
Those who are fond of the history and facts of the Second World War will be interested in the fact that in Korosten there is an Object “Rock”, known as the “Stalin’s Bunker“.
This is a former secret underground command post that was part of the Stalin Line. Built in 1936 on the basis of a system of natural and artificial caves in granite rock. In the event of war, it was planned to exercise command of the Southwestern Front from here.
Address: Zhytomyr region, Korosten
Palace of Uvarova
In the small village of Chudnovsky district of the Zhytomyr region, the manor of sugar refiners Tereshchenko (1899-1900) has been perfectly preserved – a neo-Renaissance palace (now a vocational school), an economic building, a fence with a gate, a park and a pond.
The palace was a dowry for the daughter Artemyevich Natalya, who married Count Sergei Uvarov, marshal of the nobility of the Berdichevsky district.
Tereshchenko’s estate is located in the center of the village, surrounded by an old park spread over rough terrain. The territory of the estate is fenced with a metal fence with brick three-span gates.
Address: Zhytomyr region, with. Turchynovka, st. Zhytomyrska, 6
The famous Baranovsky porcelain
The history of the porcelain factory “Baranovka” has more than two centuries old. The company has been manufacturing tableware and related products from porcelain and ceramics since 1802.
The Baranovka Porcelain Factory often takes part in international exhibitions held in different countries: the USA, Canada, France, Germany, and the company’s products deservedly receive high marks from experts and consumers.
The main products of the porcelain factory in Baranovka are porcelain tableware, tea and coffee sets. Production of other porcelain products under the order is possible.
There is a museum at the plant, which presents the rich history and products of the enterprise.
Address: Zhytomyr region, with. Baranovka
Palace of Hanska and Honore de Balzac
The Empire-style palace with antique motifs in the decor was built in 1800 according to the design of the Italian architect Blériot by Count V. Gansky, who inherited the Verkhovna estate from his father Jan Gansky.
The count presented the manor with a palace and outbuildings, a large landscape park and a tomb church to his young wife Evelina from the Rzhevussky family, who was considered one of the first beauties of Poland. From here, Evelina began a secret correspondence with Honore de Balzac, signing herself with the pseudonym “Foreigner”.
Soon their first meeting took place in Switzerland, but only 15 years later, when Evelina’s husband died, the writer was able to come to Verkhovyna. In Balzac’s surviving office, on the second floor of the palace, there is a table at which he wrote The Deputy from Arsi, The Petty Bourgeois, The Theater As It Is, and the drama The Stepmother.
The interior of Balzac’s bedroom has not been preserved – portraits of the novelist performed by his contemporaries are exhibited there.
These rooms house the Balzac Memorial Museum. The remaining premises of the palace are occupied by an agrotechnical college, restoration is underway.
Address: Zhytomyr region, with. Verkhovna
Neo-Gothic Church of Saint Clara
The neo-Gothic church of St. Clara, located on the bank of a small pond in the village of Gorodovka, from a distance can be mistaken for a medieval castle.
In the architecture of this building, uncharacteristic for Central Ukraine, there is a close interweaving of Romanesque and Gothic styles, emphasized by the combination of wild stone with red brick. The initiator of the construction of the Church of St. Clara was the Polish writer-memoirist E. Ivanovsky, who lived in Halaimgorodok (the former name of Gorodovka).
The writer wanted to build a temple in honor of the heavenly patroness of his mother K. Ivanovskaya. He did not have time to fulfill his promise, but, dying, bequeathed to do it to others.
In 1912, the Church of St. Clara was nevertheless built.
Now the temple belongs to the Roman Catholic Order of Discalced Carmelites.
Address: Gorodkovka, st. School, 40
Author Svetlana Bondarenko